Western Region

Charley in San Diego, CA

Charley is a sweet and loving boy. He is 11 years old, but acts much younger. Due to severe dental disease, Charley has no teeth. Once again, that does not stop him from enjoying his kibble softened with a little water.


Charley likes to be near his humans, but not on top on them. He likes to lie on the couch or a nice soft bed on the floor. He will get on one's lap but gets too hot and moves to a cooler area. He is working on potty training and needs a belly band in the house. His hearing is good and comes when he is called. He loves to take walks and can do 1.5 miles without any stress. He is very polite to everyone inside or outside the house. He has a cat living with him in his foster home and does not pay much attention to the cat's antics. 


Charley does not like stainless steel bowls. He will not eat or drink out of them. He likes to eat from a flat dinner plate (plastic is fine). Any bowl for water except SS. He does not like other animals around him when he eats. He is a slow eater and the others critters may try to get his share. He does bark while eating at times even when on his own. He has no health issues that require medication or follow up. Another dog or two would be fine in his forever home. An enclosed yard is a must. Someone home most of the time to help with potty training.

Although not a bonded pair, Charley and Beckham (who is listed separately) have been fostered together and are quickly becoming great friends. If you would like to consider adopting one or both of them please note that on your application. After you fill out the online application, please contact Sue at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or 602.750.7124 and let her know your wishes.



  • Color: Tri-Color
  • Age: 11
  • Birthday: 9/15/2005
  • Weight: 15 lbs
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: Work in progress
  • Medical Conditions: No teeth, healthy otherwise

  • Temperament: Sweet, gentle
  • Recommendations: Fenced yard, someone home much of the time.
  • Location: San Diego, CA
  • Region: Western

Additional information