Southern Region

Emma in Broken Arrow, OK

My name is Emma. At least that’s what my foster humans call me now. I wish I could tell them what my name used to be. I got lost one day and couldn’t find my way home. A kind lady noticed I was hungry and confused, so she asked Cavalier Rescue USA to help.

They helped me get my teeth cleaned and get all my vaccinations up to date. I lost a few teeth, but I can chew just fine and I still have my pretty smile, too! I even got a microchip so that if I get lost again, my forever family can find me. The nice man with a stethoscope looked at my eyes and ears (and even scratched behind my ears, oh my!) and said I’m about six years old and in very good shape. I have a tiny little heart murmur that doesn’t require medication. He said that’s pretty good for a Cavalier my age.

Did I mention I have terrific knees? I didn’t need a veterinarian to tell me that! Why, I can jump like a Jack Russell, straight up, over and over. I’m an excellent jumper because I want to see what’s going on. I’m curious, you see, and I want to know what my humans are doing. I love to play, but like most Cavaliers, I know the value of a healthy nap. My favorite place to snooze is on the back of the sofa because I can see what’s going on and rest my head on my human’s shoulder. I think that’s the very best pillow. I might snore a little, but what’s a girl to do?

Do you like to go riding in the car? It’s my favorite thing in the world. If I see you heading for the car, I’ll be in the passenger seat lickety-split and ready to go. I love looking out the window and smelling all those new aromas.

My coat is thick and soft, but someone trimmed my curly ears a bit short. Don’t worry, because they are growing out full and pretty. I’ve been really patient - yes, patient - at bath time, even with pedicures. They tickle my toes!

I dive into my food with gusto, but my foster siblings taught me that I’m only supposed to eat from MY bowl. My mom puts my food in a separate corner and we are all happy. I love my good grain-free food and watermelon and cauliflower and green beans and (don’t tell anyone) the occasional piece of popcorn my foster dad “accidentally” drops.

My new family will need to help me learn where to go potty in my forever home, but I’m a fast learner with a consistent schedule. I’ll try to tell you when I need to go out by singing (I’m a soprano, by the way) or walking restlessly near the door. It helps if you are willing to wait outside with me for a few minutes, because I like to check things out before I get down to business.

My dream family has someone who likes to play and someone who likes to cuddle, because I just love to do both. If they have a fenced yard where I can run, squeaky balls I can chase, and a soft sofa where I can snooze, I’ll be a very good girl and pay them back with lots of kisses and laughter.

If you think we would be a great match, please fill out our on-line application and contact Janis Stauffer at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


  • Color: Blenheim
  • Age: 6
  • Weight: 16 lbs
  • Sex: Female
  • House Training: Good after an introduction to new surroundings and reinforcement.
  • Medical Conditions: Healthy (very mild heart murmur requiring no medication, just annual checkups).
  • Temperament: Energetic, happy, confident.
  • Recommendations: Fenced yard, active family with someone home a lot of the time.
  • Location: Broken Arrow, OK
  • Region: Southern

Additional information