Northeast Region

Chip in Yaphank, NY

Adoption Pending!

They call me Chip cause when I was a puppy I looked like a little chocolate chip cookie. Now I am 11-years-old and still very, very sweet.

I love going to the groomer. I needed a little extra grooming when I came into rescue so I have a couple of bald spots that you can see in my photo but it is growing back nicely. I enjoy bathes and being brushed.

I was neutered a few weeks after arriving at my foster home and had my teeth fixed. Since my dental, I have only been allowed to eat soft food but I love eating everything and I hope to be able to eat hard food soon. I have already put on a few pounds but I have more weight to gain. I can’t wait to get all buff with a proper diet.

I like other dogs and cats too. Playing hide and seek with my cat friends is my favorite activity. The little humans that visit me are 6 and 9 and I love playing with them too. I am never aggressive.

Car rides are fine. I sit still and take the view in. I am learning so much. A dog bed, treats and loves are not anything I was ever used to but I am learning fast. I do not jump at all so I stay off the furniture. I do not totally understand cuddling so, for now, I prefer to sleep on the floor in my bed.

I have been working on house training. If I get excited sometimes I leak a little. I follow my dog friends outside in the fenced yard and come right back to the door to come in when I am done. I am not 100% trained but I am definitely willing to learn and keep improving.

I am not able to hear well if at all. So I will wonder off if left alone. I prefer not to go outside when the weather is rainy but if you go with me I will be okay.

I sleep a lot because of my age but I am still happy to play. I would be happy with someone who works or is home. I am looking for a human to follow around and I am ready to be a loyal companion.

If you are interested in me, please complete our online application and then contact Michelle Farnum at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.




  • Color: Black and Tan
  • Age: 11
  • Weight: 16 lbs.
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: Doing well and willing to learn
  • Medical Conditions: Healthy
  • Temperament: Affectionate, good natured, loyal, friendly, gentle
  • Recommendations: Would be good with children, good with other animals, mild temperament. Willing to continue helping with house training
  • Location: Yapank, NY
  • Region: Northeast

Additional information