Northeast Region

Charlie in Turnersville, NJ

Hi everybody! I go by the name of Charlie, and I will not come a running if I hear you say my name. I do not hear too well you see, but if I see you – that’s a different story. I will run to you with a wagging tail expecting you are as glad to see me as I am you. I have a full amount of energy in my tank each day, and will come find you if I suspect you are starting your day.

I am in fit shape, and have a great appetite. I peeked at the scale when they thought I wasn’t looking, and saw the number 19.1. I guess that is my weight. I absolutely love balls. It doesn’t matter what kind. I love tennis balls, racquetballs, but my favorite is big beach balls. I have to bark at them to get them to do what I want, but that rarely works. I have to resort to pushing them around the yard with my nose, batting at them with my paws, and biting at them. This is all to no end, because they roll away too easily, and I can never quite pin them down. I also love rope toys, and will bring one to you to play with me. After a bit of tug-of-war I will cart it off, and chew on it for a bit.

When I came into foster care, they say I had some resource guarding issues, but apparently, I have overcome this issue. I am very polite, and eat in the same room at the same time with eight other dogs with no monkey business going on. Since I am the last to arrive at my foster home I have to wait until last to get any treat being handed out. Sounds tough I know, but those are the rules. To go with all my energy I have a soft side, and will find a way into your lap before you know it. I just want so much to be close to you. I normally don’t stay long. I just want you to know I am thinking about you. I settle right down at night, and sleep in an open crate, or in a doggie bed, or in your bed. You tell me where you want me, and then I’ll decide what’s best. I have learned a few hand signal commands, but will rely on you to complete my training. I am housebroken, but you will have to show me what to do in your house – I mean our house. You will find me very agreeable, and eager to get to know you.

My start in life was with a family who could not take care of me anymore. I was turned over to rescue, and got into foster care. I had been living as an only dog, and wasn’t too sure how I would do as a member of a large group of dogs (mostly Cavaliers). However, I am now a social butterfly with the other dogs, and the people in our house. I am not afraid of anything, and am very inquisitive. I’ve never seen a cat so I can’t say exactly what I would do. I’m sure there would be a confrontation, but not sure where it would go from there.

I ride well in a car, and have been out on many excursions meeting people. I love to go to the pet food store. They have all these great smells, and a whole bunch of toys and chewy things that are right up my alley. My foster parents are teaching me some things – I think they call them manners, but I’m pretty well behaved on my own. Please don’t leave me alone for very long. I don’t like it.  When I came into foster care I had some anxiety issues, and would howl incessantly if you left me. I have gotten over that, thank goodness. I still will howl if you leave, and I don’t think you are coming back, but then good sense kicks in, and I stop after a few seconds. I can move into your home as an only dog, but I have sort of gotten used to having some other dogs around. They seem to settle me down, and give me another dog/s to play with. I do have some medical issues you should be aware of – I have a grade 4 heart murmur, but I do not have heart disease. I am on the recommended preventative medicine for the murmur, and have a bunch of years ahead of me. Trust and routine are big issues with me. I need to know what to expect. I know how to use a doggie door, and if there isn’t one I will sit by the door until you take me out to do my business.

I am being fostered by a family with lots of dogs – some older dogs, some a few years older than me, and one that is really old. I get along great with all of them. I might not be a good candidate for small children. They try to steal things from me, and I might not like that. I would never bite one intentionally, but could have an accident in an attempt to get my property back.

I love to be outdoors in a fenced yard, and love going on adventures such as long walks through the neighborhood. Wherever you go I want to go. You will be absolutely amazed at how close I can get to you.

Charlie is being fostered in the Turnersville, NJ area. If you are interested in adopting him, please complete our online application, and then contact Rescue Coordinator Rebecca Plimpton at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. so she knows you have applied. 


  • Color: Tri-Color
  • Age: 8
  • Weight: 19 lbs
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: Housebroken
  • Medical Conditions: Grade 4 heart murmur. On medication.
  • Temperament: Affectionate, but likes some alone time.
  • Recommendations: Very adaptable, but should not be with small children.
  • Location: Turnersville, NJ
  • Region: Northeast

Additional information