Northeast Region

Jake in Annapolis, MD

Just Adopted!

Hi, I’m Jake and I’m a 5-year-old Blenheim boy looking for my forever family! I came to live with my foster family when my previous owners made the difficult decision to entrust Cavalier Rescue USA with my care.


I’m neutered and up to date on vaccines, monthly preventatives, and routine veterinary care. I currently weight 24lbs which the vet said is a great weight for me since I’m long and tall for a Cavalier. While I was at the vet, the Dr. checked me over really well and said my ears, teeth, skin, heart and patellas all look great! I came into foster care with a very short haircut, but now that I’m eating a high quality diet my fur is growing in quickly and my foster Mom says it’s going to be just  gorgeous! I’m potty trained and pleased to report that I’ve never had an accident at my foster home. I sleep in my house (crate) at night but would much prefer to sleep on the big bed with my humans. I bark when new people come into the house, but I settle down once I know they’re here to give me love and pets.


I’m laid back, affectionate and very content snuggling on my foster Dad’s lap on the couch. I’m not really sure how to play with toys but I think I'd be interested in learning if you wanted to teach me. I walk very well on a leash and enjoy going on short walks with my foster pack. My foster home has a fenced in yard which means I get to go outside and explore, but a fence isn’t a requirement as long as you’re committed to keeping me on a leash at all times. I’m crate trained and will stay in the crate while you’re gone, which is probably best since it keeps me from getting into trouble when I'm alone. I’m very smart and enjoy working on commands with my foster parents - right now I know “sit”, “down”, “paw”, “come”, and “house” and I’m learning to “wait” when I’m given my food. Speaking of food, I’m VERY food motivated. I eat out of a funny shaped bowl that makes me eat really slow; I don’t know why this is necessary but my foster Mom says it’s good for me so I do it.


I have resource guarding issues when it comes to items that I take (and am not given), so for that reason I will need to go to a home where items are kept out of my reach and I’m closely supervised at all times. I get fixated on things and will guard food, paper, and other random items. My guarding episodes happen about once a week and each time one occurs I'm able to work through it much faster than the last time. I've never been possessive or guarded my foster humans, my bed, or my space. I'm comfortable with my foster parents being near me while I eat, and I've been doing a lot of practice on gently taking food from their hands. I’ve made great progress in the short time I’ve been in my foster home, but my forever family will need to be committed to consistent training and positive reinforcement while I continue to work through the issues from my past.

At my foster home I live with two other Cavaliers; and while we get along great, I don’t strive to be a part of the pack and much prefer the attention from humans. I previously lived with another dog and several tiny humans, and if I’m being honest, I’m ready to have all the attention for myself. For those reasons, it’s not recommended that I go to a home with young children or to a family that cannot devote the time and attention I need. 


Thank you for taking the time to read my story! I'm looking forward to finding my forever home so I can continue learning all about love and trust. If you live within a few hours of Annapolis and would like to be considered as a family for me, please complete the online application. Once your application is complete, make sure you email rescue coordinator Michelle (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.m) to let her know you’ve applied!



  • Color: Blenheim
  • Age: 5
  • Birthday: 6/10/12
  • Weight: 24 lbs.
  • Sex: Male
  • House Training: Excellent
  • Medical Conditions: Healthy
  • Temperament: Sweet and loving, has guarding issues mostly with food
  • Recommendations: Calm, adult/older child household
  • Location: Annapolis, MD
  • Region: Northeast

Additional information